WTCR race of the Czech Republic: Michelisz becomes the tenth WTCR winner of 2021

October 10, 2021

by Phil Kinch

Norbert Michelisz took his first win of the 2021 FIA World Touring Car Cup – WTCR season as well as becoming the tenth winner of the year after surviving a red-flagged interrupted second race at the Autodrom Most.

The BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Squadra Corse driver, who took his first victory since the epic 2019 WTCR finale at Sepang in Malaysia, took the lead after Mikel Azcona endured a big slide in his Zengő Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición coming out of the first turn, with plenty of action behind them.

Just as predicted during Free Practice and Qualifying, the field closed up into the tight first corner as Gabriele Tarquini, Santiago Urrutia, Rob Huff and Attila Tassi were all retired on the spot due to contact, with three of the four cars stuck in the gravel traps.

The race was stopped to allow the damaged cars to be recovered safely, before being restarted behind the Safety Car.

Michelisz made a strong restart and was able to hold off the advances of Azcona, who chased the Hyundai Elantra N TCR driver hard, but not enough to stop him from claiming victory.

Race two podium finisher Esteban Guerrieri was able to get past series leader Yann Ehrlacher from the second row, on the way to taking his second podium finish of the weekend in his ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Honda Civic Type R TCR.

Nathanaël Berthon enjoyed a better race two as he finished in fifth place in his Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport RS3 LMS, ahead of Yvan Muller with Luca Engstler starting last and crossing the line in seventh in his Engstler Hyundai N Liqui Moly Racing Elantra N TCR.

Whilst Berthon had a better second race, stablemates Frédéric Vervisch, Gilles Magnus and Tom Coronel took the flag line stern to complete the top ten.

Petr Fulín was eleventh in his Fulín Race Academy CUPRA Leon Competición ahead of Tiago Monteiro, Bence Boldizs, Jean-Karl Vernay who incurred a drive-through penalty whilst running in sixth place and Thed Björk also scoring points.

The next round of the 2021 FIA Touring car Cup – WTCR moves onto newly upgraded Circuit Pau-Arnos in France where it will once more share the same venue with the PURE ETCR series, making for an action-packed weekend of TCR competition at the highest level.

Image Credit: DPPI Images


Log in to comment