Van Amersfoort Racing joins FIA Formula 3 as HWA Racelab drop out

October 14, 2021

By Alex Johnston

Dutch outfit Van Amersfoort Racing have joined the grid for FIA Formula 3 for 2022 to 2024. German side HWA Racelab have dropped out of the series as a result. Van Amersfoort Racing, often referred to as ‘VAR’ join the championship for the first time, while HWA leaving having been involved for the last three campaigns.

VAR have a rich history of bringing through young talent, including current Formula 1 drivers Max Verstappen of Red Bull Racing, Ferrari driver Charles Leclerc and Ferrari Academy and Haas F1 Team driver Mick Schumacher. Other former notable current drivers for the team are IndyCar driver Callum Ilott, F2 and DTM driver Liam Lawson, ART Grand Prix and Mercedes Junior Frederik Vesti and the F3 champion for 2021, Dennis Hauger.

The Dutch side will embark on their first F3 season as in its current format with an eye on challenging PREMA Racing and Trident Racing who were the runaway leaders in 2021, although a date has not been set for the new season beginning yet as F3 prepares to revert back to the older format of two races on a weekend, joining the F1 schedule more frequently. Van Amersfoort are also now the second Dutch side in F3 alongside MP Motorsport. Since the team was formed, they've won 14 junior championships.

HWA Racelab drop out of the series having competed the last three years with a variety of drivers including Jack Doohan, Jake Hughes and Matteo Nannini as well as current F2 driver Enzo Fittipaldi. The side currently remain in Formula 2 and leave the F3 series with three wins and eight podiums to their name.

Image credit: Formula Motorsport Limited


Log in to comment