Red Bull announce destinations of Junior Drivers for 2022, Doohan departs academy

January 14, 2022

by Alex Johnston

Red Bull Racing have announced where their academy drivers will be racing in 2022, with eight drivers spread across FIA Formula 2 and Formula 3. 2021 F3 runner up Jack Doohan has departed the academy.

Five drivers in total will take part in F2, with Jehan Daruvala, F3 champion Dennis Hauger, Juri Vips, Liam Lawson and Ayumu Iwasa, who has been promoted from F3.

Daruvala and Hauger form the PREMA Racing team, replacing last years champion and second place drivers Oscar Piastri and Robert Shwartzman. Lawson will join Logan Sargeant at Carlin, Juri Vips continues with Hitech, while debutant Iwasa will join up with DAMS.

Three drivers will take residence in F3 with Jak Crawford, Jonny Edgar and Isack Hadjar all on the grid. Crawford and Edgar will be in their second season in the series, while Hadjar will be debuting.

American teenager Crawford will join PREMA alongside Ferrari academy drivers Ollie Bearman and Arthur Leclerc, Edgar makes a switch from Carlin Buzz Racing to Trident and Hadjar will join the Hitech team for his first year.

Jack Doohan will leave the academy but no information has been announced by the team. The Australian has already secured a seat in F2 for this year with UNI-Virtuosi Racing.

With this announcement, just seven seats remain empty in F2, while much of the F3 grid is yet to be filled.

Image credit: Formula Motorsport Limited


Log in to comment