F1 confirms new driver numbers for 2023

December 15, 2022

by Alex Johnston

FIA Formula 1’s entry list for 2023 features driver numbers for the three new drivers on the grid for the season.

New Williams Racing driver Logan Sargeant will run the #2 as the American prepares for his debut in racing’s top flight. The number was last used by Stoffel Vandoorne before the Belgian departed the series.

Alpha Tauri’s Nyck De Vries will race with the #21 on his car, as the 2020 Formula E champion joins the grid on a full time basis after his Monza debut with Williams this year. #21 was last used by Esteban Gutierrez between 2014 and 2016.

Finally, Oscar Piastri - debuting with McLaren after his Alpine contract fiasco will run the number #81, a number never used in F1 but run frequently by Piastri during his junior career.

Meanwhile, returning Nico Hulkenberg who'll be partnering Kevin Magnussen at Haas, will return with his familiar #27.

Image credit: Formula Motorsport Limited


Log in to comment